fbpx

Palais de Rumine

Designed by the architect Gaspard André, the Palais de Rumine is the result of a donation from Prince Gabriel de Rumine to the city of Lausanne for the construction of a “public service” building. Inaugurated in 1902, its neo-Florentine style pays homage to the Italian Renaissance and is inspired by the Villa Medici in Rome or the stairs of the Laurentine Library in Florence designed by Michelangelo.

Multi-functional. Throughout its history, the Palais de Rumine will host many institutions: museums, library, university, parliament,… Over time, the Palais has got various redevelopments, up to its current configuration. This gives it a role as a link between the medieval city and the Place de la Riponne, with in particular its bridge linking the hill of the City to the 5th floor.

THE FOUNTAIN AND THE FAMOUS STAIRS

GABRIEL DE RUMINE

Today, the Palais has three museums (archaeology and history, geology and zoology) as well as the Cantonal and University Library. In addition to the exhibition and reading rooms open to the public, it is a real labyrinth, which includes warehouses, various workshops – archaeological restoration, binding, taxidermy – corridors, corners and nooks, as well as audiences, for both internal and external use. The building is open 7 days a week and welcomes a diverse population: exhibition visitors, migrants or outsiders looking for a hot spot and wifi, photographers, students, gymnasts who come for a picnic, researchers, tourists, people passing between the Riponne and the City…

Museum Cantonal of archeology and history

Museum Cantonal of geology

Museum Cantonal of zoology

Cantonal & University library of Lausanne

But the Palais is once again in a period of transition, with the move of the Cantonal Museum of Fine Arts to the new PLATEFORM 10 site.

What to do with empty rooms? Can we imagine a common thread and links between the institutions of the Palais de Rumine, a palace of history and science? It is up to the Museomixers to use their imagination and creativity to make this venerable centenary a breathtaking place!

Palais de Rumine

Imaginé par l’architecte Gaspard André, le Palais de Rumine est le résultat d’une donation du prince Gabriel de Rumine à la ville de Lausanne pour la construction d’un bâtiment de «service public ». Inauguré en 1902, son style néo-florentin rend hommage à la renaissance italienne et s’inspire de la villa Médicis de Rome ou encore des escaliers de la bibliothèque Laurentine de Florence dessinés par Michel-Ange.

Multi-fonctions. le Palais de Rumine accueillera au cours de son histoire de nombreuses institutions : musées, bibliothèque, université, parlement,… Au fil du temps, le Palais connaît différents réaménagements, jusqu’à sa configuration actuelle. Celle-ci  lui confère un rôle de trait d’union entre la ville médiévale et la place de la Riponne, avec notamment sa passerelle reliant la colline de la Cité au 5ème étage.

LA FONTAINE ET LES FAMEUX ESCALIERS

GABRIEL DE RUMINE

Aujourd’hui, le Palais abrite trois musées (archéologie et histoire, géologie et zoologie) ainsi que la Bibliothèque Cantonale et Universitaire. Outre les salles d’exposition et de lecture ouvertes au public, c’est un vrai labyrinthe, qui comprend des dépôts, divers ateliers  – restauration archéologique, reliure, taxidermie – couloirs, coins et recoins, ainsi que des auditoires, à usage tant interne qu’externe. Le bâtiment est ouvert 7 jours sur 7 de l’aube à la nuit et accueille une population disparate : visiteurs des expositions, migrants ou marginaux en quête d’un endroit chaud et de wifi, photographes, étudiants, gymnasiens qui viennent y pique-niquer, chercheurs, touristes, personnes de passage entre la Riponne et la Cité,…

Musée Cantonal d’Archéologie et d’Histoire

Musées Cantonal de Géologie

Musées Cantonal de Zoologie

Bibliothèque Cantonale et Universitaire de Lausanne

Mais le Palais est une nouvelle fois en période de transition, avec le déménagement du Musée Cantonal des Beaux-Arts vers le nouveau site de PLATEFORME 10…

Que faire des locaux laissés vides ? Peut-on imaginer un fil rouge et des liens entre les institutions du Palais de Rumine, palais d’histoire et des sciences ? Aux Muséomixeuses et Muséomixeurs de faire travailler leur imagination et leur créativité pour faire de ce vénérable centenaire un endroit ébouriffant !